Plenary Speakers

Keynote speakers

“ONE Paleopathology: Bringing Past Knowledge to Contemporary Health Risks in a Changing World.”

Jane Buikstra is Professor of Anthropology and founding director of the Center for Bioarchaeological Research in the School of Human Evolution and Social Change at Arizona State University and is a member of the US National Academy of Sciences. Early in her career, she developed the highly successful discipline of bioarchaeology that merges methods from biological anthropology with those of archaeology. She has recently founded the emerging field of One Palaeopathology that applies principles of One Health to the past. Her interdisciplinary work combines palaeopathology, bioarchaeology, palaeodemography and techniques from forensic anthropology. She has published over 25 books and over 200 papers. She has won the Charles Darwin Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Association of Biological Anthropologists (AABA) and the T. Dale Stewart Award from the American Academy of Forensice Sciences.  Currently, she is the President for the Center for American Archeology and has been past President of the AABA, the AAA and the Paleopathology Association. She is inaugural editor-in-Chief of the International Journal of of Paleopathology.